Valday Iversky Monastery
Valday Iversky monastery was founded in 1653 by Patriarch Nikon on the model of the Athonite Iviron monastery. The monastery is located on an island in the middle of picturesque Valday lake, in 3 km from the town of Valday.
During the disgrace of Nikon all his monasteries: the Iversky Valdai, Godfather Onega and Resurrection new Jerusalem were closed. They admitted created "not by the statutes of the Holy Fathers", the land had been taken into the Treasury, and the construction stopped. В1668 year the conviction was overturned.
Assumption Cathedral - the main temple of the monastery is considered one of the largest buildings of the XVII century in Russia. Ancient painting of the Dormition Cathedral to the present day has not been preserved.
We pre-booked a tour of the monastery Pilgrimage through the Center of the monastery, but with the tour being railroaded without warning, we found out when she arrived at the appointed time. So, if you want to explore the monastery with a guide, make it through the Valdai branch of the Novgorod Museum.
- Open Street Maps